The Stage of Establishment specifies an MPA’s status in the process of creating an MPA.
There are four Stages of Establishment in The MPA Guide:
  1. Proposed/Committed by a governing or other organizing body.
  2. Designated by legal or other effective means.
  3. Implemented with regulations active.
  4. Actively Managed with ongoing monitoring and adaptive management.

Explore the four Stages of Establishment and the minimum criteria and best practices for an MPA to achieve each Stage.

Choose a Stage of Establishment:

©The MPA Guide 2024